Simulacrum of normal

Aspergers Syndrome in the adult life

Introduction September 25 2009

Filed under: Just living — adah @ 2:41 pm

About one and a half years ago, it was suggested to me that I have Asperger’s Syndrome. I had never heard of it before, but as I read up on it I realised that I am not alone. I have struggled my whole life pretending to be “normal”, always knowing that I’m not like other people. Discovering AS has been emancipating; learning that so many of my struggles are common to many aspies has helped me to accept myself. Life is still hard and incomprehensible to me in many ways, but I have stopped wondering why no one seems to understand me. Reading the blogs of other aspies has been a tremendous help, so I decided to give it a go myself. Maybe others can be encouraged by my thoughts and experiences as I stumble through life.

 

Leave a Reply

