Simulacrum of normal

Aspergers Syndrome in the adult life

Buying Pizza June 22 2010

Filed under: Just living — adah @ 8:41 pm

I had a strong craving for pizza tonight. I can’t remember the last time I had pizza so I figured I can fall off the diet wagon for one night. The problem is, how do I buy the pizza? The obvious choice for most people would be to have it delivered. In the past this was never an option for me because I avoid talking to strangers on the phone. In this wondrous internet era however, it is now possible to order pizza online! I was thrilled to discover this until I realised I would have to deal with the delivery guy. I don’t answer my door to strangers. I never know what to do with them. Do I meet them at the front door of the apartment building, or do I let they come up to my actual apartment door? The few times I have had to receive deliveries I always get complaints. The door didn’t open, the lift didn’t work etc. Always something. It’s just too stressful for me to bother with any more.

So, next option was to order online and pick up the pizza. This is what I have always done in the past, but I have never done this since I moved into my current apartment. I don’t know where the pizza shops near my place are. Sure, the websites showed addresses, but I haven’t actually been to any of those places in person. Where would I park? What if I can’t find the place? What if the address on the website is out of date? Again, all the possible permutations are just too stressful for me to deal with. I want pizza, but not that much.

Third option was to go to the supermarket and purchase frozen pizzas. This is what I ended up doing, and my pizza is sitting in my oven as I type. It just annoys me that I had to go with this option. The frozen pizzas are marginally cheaper (less than $1 cheaper) than if I had ordered them from a real shop, and they are no where near as good. I doubt they will answer my cravings because they aren’t what I’m craving. It annoys me that something as simple getting a pizza delivered is such a problem for me. I’ll go check out the pizza shops in the day time so I will know where they are and where to park in the future if I want to pick up any orders. This is how I “get around” my limitations, but it’s still frustrating that I need to do this and that I still won’t be able to get pizza delivered.

The final option of course would have been to make my own, but after all my vacillating and decision-making I really didn’t have time for this one. If I had planned to have pizza (as opposed to giving in to a sudden craving) this is the way I would have gone. Absolute control over every step of the way. My idea of heaven.

 

2 Responses to “Buying Pizza”

  1. […] with people. I would like to not freak out every time I need to call someone on the phone or order a pizza. Nevertheless, I don’t want to stop being me. I don’t want to deny or remove those […]

  2. This is such a perfect description of how hard it is for some of us to do “simple” tasks. Thank you for giving me something to show to others to help them understand me better!


Leave a Reply

